A Brief Sidenote

As I mentioned in my introductory post, this blog will be including some films from non-sovereign states in order to help me get from 197 up to a nice, round 200 films. And, since I’m missing films from six nations (Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Seychelles, Tuvalu, and of course Vatican City), it turns out I’ve had to fill in six extra gaps, for a total of nine.

So, to avoid confusion and cries of “Hey, that’s not a nation!” here’s a list of the non-sovereign states that will also be represented on my blog (chosen based on a combination of political status, cultural distinctiveness from its parent country, and the existence of a film industry, however small):

  1. Cook Islands
  2. Curaçao
  3. Faroe Islands
  4. Greenland
  5. Guadeloupe
  6. Guam
  7. Hong Kong
  8. Niue
  9. Puerto Rico

Considering the unlikelihood of finding a film from any of the six nations I’m missing, I imagine that this is how the list will remain. However, on the off chance that anyone does know a film from Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Seychelles, Tuvalu, or the Vatican City, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s